Lessons from America

Dahandahum, friends.  After an arduous journey lasting almost four days, I am once again home in Atsbi.  America treated me well and I enjoyed seeing many of you while I was in Texas.  I’m optimistic that the next ten months will fly by, so much so that I feel rushed to get work done, spend time with my Ethiopian friends and relish the rest of my service.

I’ve been told that reverse culture shock can be taxing, but I think I adjusted back to old habits pretty quickly.  Munching on Cheetos while watching football from the recliner didn’t stress me out too much.  I did, however, find that wearing shorts made me feel very uncomfortable.  Hearing the same songs on the radio reminded me that I haven’t actually been gone too long.  And that America could really use some new music.

A few things were new to me, though.   As people would mention them I would stop the conversation to get the rundown and they would be shocked that I hadn’t heard of this or that.  Pintrest?  People talk about it all the time but alas, I don’t have my own online bulletin board yet.  Yikes, I need to get on that ASAP.  I’ll name my first board “awesome stuff in America that I can’t eat, get, make, do or see.”  I’m sure I’ll get loads of repins.

In America I was also introduced to Siri, the quirky iPhone personal assistant.  There are a lot of people, including my mom, that just mention her in conversation as if she is a real person.  Siri reminded me to go get my eyebrows waxed, something I imagine others were probably thinking, just not saying.  Real person or not, she is obviously a true friend. I bet she wouldn’t like Ethiopia, though.

Duck Dynasty is yet another popular topic of conversation that I couldn’t keep up with.  I never actually saw the show, but was told it is essentially a bunch of rednecks with cameras following them around.  Overheard at the Hoerster house: “Oh gosh, it’s just like Duck Dynasty around here.” I would imagine having a camera trained on my brother and dad as they brought a live trap exploding with a snarling coon into a yard full of huntin’ dogs and then opening the cage would have made for entertaining television. Someone record me a few episodes of this new redneck extravaganza, please?

I’m sure there are other American oddities that I learned about while at home, but I seem to have already forgotten them.  One thing is for sure, it won’t take me long to readjust to living in comfort and ease when I return for good.  The little things that come and go while I’m gone are just something to remind me of my time here.  Five years from now someone will remark on a certain song or commercial that I can’t remember and I’ll assume I was adventuring away in Ethiopia.

Until next time, thanks for reading!

3 comments on “Lessons from America

  1. Glad you enjoyed your break in good ole USA…thanks for serving the United States and for being a true patriot. God bless. Miss your smile. Love: your old English teacher: Debbie Engler

  2. Katheryn, it was so good to see you; looking great! Ethiopia apparently agrees with you. I look forward to reading about your new adventures. May God Bless you and keep you safe.
    PS: You will probably get over the shorts thing when you come home and it is 100+ degrees!

  3. Chris says:

    The part about Siri is pretty funny!

Leave a Reply

